PWHS spring musical receives 19 award nominations

The Plymouth Whitemarsh High School (PWHS) Colonial Players spring musical production of The Theory of Relativity has been nominated for 19 Philadelphia Independence Awards (PIA), including Best Song and Best Musical.  With those nominations, the cast will perform at the inaugural PIA ceremony at the Temple University Performing Arts Center on May 21.

Individual nominations for PWHS include Katie Smith and Sara Yuter for Featured Actress, Caroline Borio for Supporting Actress and Female Vocalist and Colin Mash for Supporting Actor and Male Vocalist. The Colonial Players also picked up nominations for:

  • Dance Ensemble: Me and Ricky Dancers,
  • Ensemble: The Cast of The Theory of Relativity,
  • Song: Me & Ricky,
  • Song: Nothing Without You,
  • Shift Crew/Stage Management
  • Light, and
  • Sound.

The Philadelphia Independence Awards were created by high school theater teachers and directors for the purpose of sharing and awarding outstanding student theater performances and productions in the Philadelphia region.

“The Philadelphia Independence Awards was designed to provide directors and students with high quality, rigorous feedback from professional artists, theater educators and theater graduate students in an effort to improve high school theater programs and the overall theatrical experience,” said PIA President Brian Weiner, who teaches theater at PWHS and who previously served as director of musical theater at Central Bucks West and as assistant director for the Colonial Players. “The new program, similar to the styles of programs in many major cities around the country, elevates high school musical theater expectations and challenges students to broaden their reach as theater artists.”

Enrollment is open to any public, private, charter or parochial Pennsylvania high school (grades 9-12 participants only) within a 20 mile radius of City Hall, Philadelphia. Schools on the immediate border of the radius may apply for an exemption for this rule.

Charter members of the PIA include:

  • Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush
  • Central High School
  • Episcopal Academy
  • Jenkintown
  • Mount Saint Joseph Academy
  • Northeast High School
  • Plymouth-Whitemarsh High School
  • Ridley High School
  • Springfield Township High School
  • Springside Chestnut Hill Academy
  • The Baldwin School
  • The Philadelphia High School for Creative & Performing Arts
  • Upper Dublin

Click here to see a complete list of 2017-2018 Independence Award nominees.

Group photo of Colonial Players cast

PWHS spring musical receives 19 award nominations